What I will be covering in the next few posts

Hello, everyone. This is my second blog post of the year, as promised. In this update, I'll cover recent developments and outline what to expect in upcoming posts.

What Am I Working on Right Now?

As mentioned in my last post, our group's leader bid farewell, making me responsible for our robots' hardware and software aspects. Recently, Ive been working on integrating a camera into our robot—a component we initially struggled to add. We opted for the UnitV AI camera over the pricier and more complex Open MV that many of the professional teams use, aiming for a more cost-effective solution. This camera plays a crucial role in ensuring our robot aims accurately at the opponent's goal, preventing misplaced shots (e.g. shooting the ball right next to the goal instead of inside the goal). To code the camera, I'm using MaixPy IDE, tailored for the UnitV camera.

UnitV AI Camera(OV7740版) — スイッチサイエンス

Upcoming Topics

Soon, I'll dive deep into the changes made to our robots and those we couldn't manage before the 2024 national competition. Additionally, I'll touch on other relevant subjects.

Implemented Changes:

  1. Added and replaced a motor, transitioning from three to four motors.

  2. Overhauled the overall structure of our robots (although one deviated significantly from the original design and ended up being VERY unsuccessful).

  3. Handcrafted an Omni-wheel.

Changes Yet to Be Implemented:

  1. Integrating the camera.

  2. Developing a goalkeeper program.

Future Posts:

Here's an outline of what to expect in the upcoming blogs:

  • April 6th: "The Changes My Team Made"

  • April 13th: "The Changes Our Team Couldn't Implement in Time"

  • April 20th: "Future Plans" and "Progress Report"

  • April 27th: "Why We Fell Short in the National Competition"

  • May 4th: "Progress Report" (If there's any progress)

With this roadmap, I hope to refrain from procrastinating 6 months like I have done in the past (haha). To conclude, as of today, my focus remains on integrating the camera into our robots.

Stay tuned for more updates!
See you in a week :)