Replacing parts of my robot: Handsome and Strong!

Replacing parts of my robot: Handsome and Strong!

What’s up?

It's finally Fall break, and I can't wait for Christmas!

My robot is getting old, and it is starting to break down. Just take a look at the top board of my robot: (the one on the very bottom is the old one, and the rest are failed attempts)

591F491E-1170-4AFE-93D0-0820569DE192 (1).jpeg

A part of it is even about to fall apart. Not only that but due to how the primary material used for the robot is slightly bendable, the places where bolts that connect the Arduino board to the rest of the robot are damaged, making a crater-like hole that makes the whole robot wiggly and unstable. I knew I needed to replace the robot with better material because every time I interacted with my robot, the more unstable it became. Luckily, my teacher has a 3D printer that can cut any shape out of any material on top of being able to print objects. Our team and our teacher agreed on using wood since it is more durable and not bendable. We were able to replace both the upper and lower base of our robots. I remade the top board of my robot at home (because I have a big wooden board that can be cut with a cutter knife), and though it took me many attempts, I was able to finish it in the end.

The final design looks like this:

F6A00742-F6C1-4F30-987D-F59DA390B4BB.jpeg

It looks way better than before and is way stronger than before.

This is a significant improvement!

Thank you for reading!